Kristina’s reading list & their reviews

I will also be reading and reviewing books, and I will post the information here for you as I complete them. Please let me know if there is something you would like me to review, or if you like a book and would like to see it reviewed here as well! Word of caution so I don’t have to keep repeating myself with each review, most of my books I read are NOT for the under 18 crowd, so proceed with caution before suggesting or allowing your teen to grab the book and dig in. I will also apologize for not posting some of these reviews until recently as a batch – I umm – have this addiction to reading? So I sorta went on this chain reading binge and realized how behind I got, so now I’m going to try to stay caught up, promise *scout’s honor*, I mean it! Enjoy!

My reviews will be listed below, stay tuned for changes!

First Review: The Horror Challenge Volume I

 Reviewed on: 7/6/12

While the basics to this compilation have the makings of great stories, the stories contained in this volume are extremely too short, lacking alot of information to really fill out the stories as “complete”. I would love to see these stories expanded to really bring in some horror qualities and more details to bring the reader (me) into it. Great starts, just lacking a bit in the execution.

1 out of 5 Reapers

Next Review: Ichthys

 Reviewed on: 7/6/12

Wow. This started off much differently than how it ended. This book starts out with the finding a room, and having an archeologist come to see it and try to preserve what he can of the room. At this point, you have a certain expectation of how this will go, even though the description of the book says “In the Roman catacombs, you are what you eat.” Even after this description, the book throws you for a loop and leaves you going, “what?!!” It was a great story, I only wish I could know more of the story after this ended. Definitely one to read…but maybe not “when in Rome”.

4 out of 5 Reapers!

Next Review: Aaibhe-Shee Queen (Legend)
 Reviewed on 7/6/12
Ok – once again Claudy Conn has done it again. Aaibhe-Shee Queen is “technically” part of her Legend series, but really it can stand on its own. The truth, however, is that once you read it, there’s no way you’re going to stop at just this book. She has such a descriptive way of writing that makes it easy for you to lose yourself in the book and makes it hard to put it down until the very last page. This is a must read, and I can’t wait to read the rest of this series!

5 out of 5 Reapers!

Next Review: Afterlife (The Dark Gifts Companions)
 Reviewed on 7/6/12
I chanced upon this book, and I’m glad I did. It was a good read, gave information into this relationship that is discussed in other books (of which I also intend to read) and painted a picture of a crazy comedic relationship. The idea of a 200 yr old vampire still having to answer to her mother, is even more humerous. Check this one out and have a great read for yourself.

4 out of 5 Reapers!

Next Review: A Night To Remember
 Reviewed on 7/6/12
Who knew that saving someone from a suicide attempt would change your life in such a way?! This was definitely a page turner. This kept me intrigued, and even a few times thinking, “what in the world?”  This has chaos, danger, excitement, and all around strange events that make it worth the read. The ending is definitely “happily ever after”, but every now and then, that’s the best kind of ending.

4 out of 5 Reapers!

Next Revive: Amulet
 Reviewed on 7/9/12
This book’s description definitely made me pause and go “hmmmm”. I was very curious as to where it would go. The main character Jason does a heroic act and receives an amulet that is very special. The amulet gives him the power of invisibility, and the situations and things he then does, well while you expect it, the outcomes are anything but. The book is well written, the story really keeps you engaged, and I can’t wait to read the next one. Word of caution – this is not for the under 18 crowd.

4 out of 5 Reapers!

Next Review: Baby Steps (Special Enforcers)
 Reviewed on: 7/9/12
This was a must read in my opinion. The interaction between the characters, the descriptions by the author really drag you in and you feel like a fly on the wall watching the scenes instead of just reading the words. There were parts that made you go “aww” and other parts that were amusing, and even other parts that made you go “YEAH!” All in all, this book had great parts to really pull you into it in so many different ways, you can’t help but want to keep turning the pages to figure out what is going to go on next. I really enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend it.

5 out of 5 Reapers!

Next Review: Baptism by Fire (Interlude One of the RuneQuest)
 Reviewed on 7/9/12
This book is hot – no seriously – its about an arsonist, a fire spirit, and a Mythology professer named after a Fairy Mistress of Ireland. So really – it is *hot* – but it was a good read. The twists and turns in the plot and in the relationships that form keep you guessing. Even when you *think* you know what’s happening, you don’t, not really, and *wham* another twist. Definitely not the “standard” of chick-flick type reads – but there is something for everyone in this book. I definitely suggest you check it out!

4 out of 5 Reapers!

Next Review: Unicorn Witch
 Reviewed on 8/27/12

This started rather simply, basic information about a cast of characters and little glimpses of their lives. A magical world called Refuge, and of course our plain Jane world here are the basics of the locations, but there is always that something “more.” That “more” occurs at that point between the two locations, and leads to an amazing story of magic, history, advancement of a culture and of the people in that culture. The paths that the characters take that lead them on an amazing journey of discovery of themselves, their relationships, and their history. This is a book full of discovery of magical proportions, and I would recommend it to anyone to read. The story is so fantastical that one could only hope to become a part of that world, so the author did a great job in really bringing the reader into the fray. I hope that we can all be so lucky to someday find “Refuge.”

4 out of 5 Reapers!

Next Review: Awakening (The Watchers Trilogy)
 Reviewed on 9/12/12
I don’t know where to start. This book had me enthralled, pulled in, and taken over. This starts out innocently enough with a simple character, simple circumstances, simple life. It then begins to morph slowly in a way that you *think* is predictable, and it becomes anything but. Angels, demons, and us mere mortals all mixed in with an amazing romance make for an excellent combination in this book. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book in the trilogy. When I met the end of this book I was sad I didn’t have more of it to read. This will definitely be a keeper for me!

5 out of 5 Reapers!

Next Review:

One thought on “Kristina’s reading list & their reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s